Bastard Sword of the Stars 3.0.2

Share your mods and tricks of the trade here.
Post Reply
alphacentauri
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2015 6:52 pm

Re: Bastard Sword of the Stars 3.0.2

Post by alphacentauri » Sat Jul 27, 2019 10:08 pm

Yep, still around periodically.

Always glad to see others enjoying my extension of Kerberos' fantastic work.

I'm working in the games industry myself these days - though not on anything this cool.

Anyway - great to see people finding joy in this.

I'm playing with a friend tonight actually. Cheers all.

Glacialis

Re: Bastard Sword of the Stars 3.0.2

Post by Glacialis » Sat Oct 12, 2019 1:45 am

Tech tree graphic is a dead MediaFire link. :.(

alphacentauri
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2015 6:52 pm

Re: Bastard Sword of the Stars 3.0.2

Post by alphacentauri » Fri Jan 03, 2020 5:51 pm

Just use the png that ships within the mod folder - it's a little out of date - but not much.

alphacentauri
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2015 6:52 pm

Re: Bastard Sword of the Stars 3.0.2

Post by alphacentauri » Fri Jan 10, 2020 2:37 am

I'm testing 4.0 now:

https://www.mediafire.com/file/05vl1cp9 ... .0.7z/file

feel free to try it out and offer (constructive) feedback.

cheers

User avatar
SpardaSon21
Posts: 1870
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2008 6:24 am

Re: Bastard Sword of the Stars 3.0.2

Post by SpardaSon21 » Fri Jan 31, 2020 11:41 pm

Manually attacking a Hiver homeworld gave me a bright pink planet in the loading screen, and an instant crash. Not using any mods besides this. I also noticed a few other texture bugs on Hiver planets in earlier combats, with black squares with red "x" over them.

User avatar
solops
Posts: 131
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 11:26 pm

Re: Bastard Sword of the Stars 3.0.2

Post by solops » Wed Feb 19, 2020 3:43 pm

alphacentauri wrote:
Fri Jan 10, 2020 2:37 am
I'm testing 4.0 now:

https://www.mediafire.com/file/05vl1cp9 ... .0.7z/file

feel free to try it out and offer (constructive) feedback.

cheers
Woo Hoo!!!

User avatar
solops
Posts: 131
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 11:26 pm

Re: Bastard Sword of the Stars 3.0.2

Post by solops » Fri Feb 28, 2020 12:25 am

Been playing steady for five days. No problems, but I did not ever get into the situation above that generated the crash. This mod is really, really well done and a lot of fun.

Mr.Kill
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2020 2:24 am

Re: Bastard Sword of the Stars 3.0.2

Post by Mr.Kill » Mon Mar 02, 2020 10:27 pm

This mod is very good. Though I did unfortunately run into a few recurring bugs.

1. Sometimes the planet is just purple and there's a purple checkered diamond in the background. Doesn't seem to have a rhyme or reason. Sometimes its my fully terraformed planet (Zuul). Othertimes its someone else's planet (Tarka, Lirr etc).

2. I was playing a 2V2V2V2 team game (locked teams) where I spawned as Zuul and the other teammate was Hiver. The Hiver player for some reason never took another planet other than his homeworld. We had similar Hazard Ratings but for some reason he just never took another planet. Helped me out with a few cruiser fleets though and he did spread his warp gate network.

3. Some dual turrets seem ridiculously expensive. I researched Dual heavy Phasers (medium mount) because I was looking at the DPS charts and saw how high the DPS was, my dreadnoughts with regular heavy phasers in all medium mounts cost me about 1.3 million. With dual phasers they cost me 2.6 million. For a mere 1.5 dmg increase (with a major caveat being that your ships can't retarget as fast because they reload slower), you pay 2X more? This Zuul won't be enslaving people at that price point.

4. The weapons excel spread sheet keeps telling me there's an error in it and it needs to be repaired. I repair it and nothing seems wrong.. huh?

I also had a few questions (some of these may be questions for the base game).

1. Do AI command sections block boarding? My boarding pods seem to explode immediately upon touching any ship with an AI cmd section. I'm having a Zuul AI rebellion problem and the only ships I can steal are the radiant bores. I've just resorted to blowing up the suckers with loads of heavy stormers instead.

2. Similarly are AI rebel planets immune to slave discs?

As for the things I loved:

1. Documentation. It goes without a doubt that a mod for any 4X game needs documentation. This mod has perhaps the more complete documentation I've ever seen. There are few if any mods that fully list all techs and critical information on those techs. Perhaps the only problem with the included tech tree is that it doesn't really tell you what age techs outside of energy cannons resides in.

2. All the new weapons are amazing from the AP stormer to the new point defense weapons. Heck even drone warfare got massive upgrades.

3. Improved mechanics. While I was actually one of the crazy people who liked managing trade ships, the changed economy means you really do have to expand becareful with how you spend your money. Since weapon mounts now do actually matter (i.e you can't slap on a small weapon into the large slot and have comparable DPS to a large weapon) picking which weapons to research matters a lot. Researching beamers is a long-term investment because they only fit optimally in small slots (though if you get dual variant, it could fit well in a medium slot) and phasers don't come until much later.

I liked this mod so much I made a forum account just to post about how much I liked it.

User avatar
solops
Posts: 131
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 11:26 pm

Re: Bastard Sword of the Stars 3.0.2

Post by solops » Fri Mar 13, 2020 12:41 am

How do I build arcologies in the mod once I have researched the tech?

Cornflakes_91
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Dec 26, 2015 10:43 am

Re: Bastard Sword of the Stars 3.0.2

Post by Cornflakes_91 » Fri Mar 13, 2020 12:47 pm

solops wrote:
Fri Mar 13, 2020 12:41 am
How do I build arcologies in the mod once I have researched the tech?
They are automatically active. your populations should continue growing beyond their [planet size] x 100M limit

User avatar
solops
Posts: 131
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 11:26 pm

Re: Bastard Sword of the Stars 3.0.2

Post by solops » Fri Mar 13, 2020 3:10 pm

Thanks. I thought so. It has been so long since I played through to this technology I have forgotten how it manifested.

User avatar
solops
Posts: 131
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 11:26 pm

Re: Bastard Sword of the Stars 3.0.2

Post by solops » Fri Apr 10, 2020 8:32 pm

Any news on future mod changes?

Red_Hellion
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2020 8:54 pm

Re: Bastard Sword of the Stars 3.0.2

Post by Red_Hellion » Mon Apr 20, 2020 12:55 am

Hey there! Created an account just for BSotS.

Always been a huge fan of SotS, decided to re-install it and give BSotS a try recently rather than just playing vanilla. Got a consistent crash to desktop on end of turn around mid-game when it's processing a specific AI empire's turn so I can't progress, and I have no idea where to go from here to fix it after analyzing the mars.dmp with WinDbg Preview:

Code: Select all

This dump file has an exception of interest stored in it.
The stored exception information can be accessed via .ecxr.
(2f0c.3658): Access violation - code c0000005 (first/second chance not available)
For analysis of this file, run !analyze -v
eax=00000000 ebx=11e31048 ecx=421c34d0 edx=00d3f424 esi=11e30ff8 edi=11e31008
eip=779c2c4c esp=00d3d4b0 ebp=00d3d4bc iopl=0         nv up ei pl nz ac po nc
cs=0023  ss=002b  ds=002b  es=002b  fs=0053  gs=002b             efl=00000212
ntdll!NtGetContextThread+0xc:
779c2c4c c20800          ret     8
0:000> !analyze -v
*******************************************************************************
*                                                                             *
*                        Exception Analysis                                   *
*                                                                             *
*******************************************************************************


KEY_VALUES_STRING: 1

    Key  : AV.Dereference
    Value: NullClassPtr

    Key  : AV.Fault
    Value: Read

    Key  : Analysis.CPU.Sec
    Value: 1

    Key  : Analysis.DebugAnalysisProvider.CPP
    Value: Create: 8007007e on NORMANDY-S4

    Key  : Analysis.DebugData
    Value: CreateObject

    Key  : Analysis.DebugModel
    Value: CreateObject

    Key  : Analysis.Elapsed.Sec
    Value: 2

    Key  : Analysis.Memory.CommitPeak.Mb
    Value: 106

    Key  : Analysis.System
    Value: CreateObject

    Key  : Timeline.Process.Start.DeltaSec
    Value: 118


ADDITIONAL_XML: 1

CONTEXT:  (.ecxr)
eax=00000000 ebx=00000000 ecx=421c34d0 edx=00d3f424 esi=00d3f424 edi=421c34d0
eip=0036429a esp=00d3f1f4 ebp=00d3f200 iopl=0         nv up ei pl nz ac po nc
cs=0023  ss=002b  ds=002b  es=002b  fs=0053  gs=002b             efl=00010212
Sword_of_the_Stars+0x2a429a:
0036429a 8b83a8000000    mov     eax,dword ptr [ebx+0A8h] ds:002b:000000a8=????????
Resetting default scope

EXCEPTION_RECORD:  (.exr -1)
ExceptionAddress: 0036429a (Sword_of_the_Stars+0x002a429a)
   ExceptionCode: c0000005 (Access violation)
  ExceptionFlags: 00000000
NumberParameters: 2
   Parameter[0]: 00000000
   Parameter[1]: 000000a8
Attempt to read from address 000000a8

PROCESS_NAME:  Sword of the Stars.exe

READ_ADDRESS:  000000a8 

ERROR_CODE: (NTSTATUS) 0xc0000005 - The instruction at 0x%p referenced memory at 0x%p. The memory could not be %s.

EXCEPTION_CODE_STR:  c0000005

EXCEPTION_PARAMETER1:  00000000

EXCEPTION_PARAMETER2:  000000a8

STACK_TEXT:  
WARNING: Stack unwind information not available. Following frames may be wrong.
00d3f200 0038173a 00000000 b5104910 19095628 Sword_of_the_Stars+0x2a429a
00d3f3a0 00349162 421c34d0 19095618 00000001 Sword_of_the_Stars+0x2c173a
00d3f440 0037348f 421c34d0 00000001 421c34d0 Sword_of_the_Stars+0x289162
00d3f46c 0038f817 421c34d0 421c37ec 00000001 Sword_of_the_Stars+0x2b348f
00d3f518 00390abf 00d3f63c 00d3f570 0037395d Sword_of_the_Stars+0x2cf817
00d3f524 0037395d 00d3f63c 421c34d0 00d3f700 Sword_of_the_Stars+0x2d0abf
00d3f570 00382cd0 00d3f63c 00d3f700 007e9f98 Sword_of_the_Stars+0x2b395d
00d3f660 00390afb 00000026 00d3f700 00390ab0 Sword_of_the_Stars+0x2c2cd0
00d3f67c 00437534 00000026 00d3f700 b5104c74 Sword_of_the_Stars+0x2d0afb
00d3f6c4 00443fcd 00d3f700 41d573d8 00d3f714 Sword_of_the_Stars+0x377534
00d3f6d4 004f8ddf 00000026 00d3f700 b5104da4 Sword_of_the_Stars+0x383fcd
00d3f714 004443ac b5104dec 5ed419da 02ae9130 Sword_of_the_Stars+0x438ddf
00d3f75c 0055a779 02ae9130 00000001 0055f644 Sword_of_the_Stars+0x3843ac
00d3f7d0 005e5651 000c0000 00000000 01065f09 Sword_of_the_Stars+0x49a779
00d3f864 75256359 00b20000 75256340 00d3f8d0 Sword_of_the_Stars+0x525651
00d3f874 779b7b74 00b20000 81f5b85e 00000000 kernel32!BaseThreadInitThunk+0x19
00d3f8d0 779b7b44 ffffffff 779d8f23 00000000 ntdll!__RtlUserThreadStart+0x2f
00d3f8e0 00000000 005e5794 00b20000 00000000 ntdll!_RtlUserThreadStart+0x1b


SYMBOL_NAME:  Sword_of_the_Stars+2a429a

MODULE_NAME: Sword_of_the_Stars

IMAGE_NAME:  Sword_of_the_Stars.exe

STACK_COMMAND:  ~0s ; .ecxr ; kb

FAILURE_BUCKET_ID:  NULL_CLASS_PTR_READ_c0000005_Sword_of_the_Stars.exe!Unknown

OS_VERSION:  10.0.18362.239

BUILDLAB_STR:  19h1_release_svc_prod1

OSPLATFORM_TYPE:  x86

OSNAME:  Windows 10

FAILURE_ID_HASH:  {34d13a5a-068a-28fa-9233-23785bc27c5b}

Followup:     MachineOwner
---------
I can provide the save file as well if that would help and anyone interested in debugging the issue would let me know where to send it. From what I've been able to figure out from guesswork and the wiki, it may be an AI empire created a fleet with a broken weapon/module/upgrade and there's no default replacement set. But I have no idea where I'd go about figuring out exactly what weapon/tech/module I'd need to comment out of the code to fix it. All races are human, and this is using the latest BSotS 3.0.2 download on top of Sword of the Stars CE latest version on Steam, following the mod guide with the manual sots.ini configuration.

tjimagineer
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 1:30 am

Re: Bastard Sword of the Stars 3.0.2

Post by tjimagineer » Thu Apr 30, 2020 6:02 pm

First I really love the mod.
Are the morrigi drones supposed to be weaker as they normally have 3 light mounts not 2?

Post Reply

Return to “Modding”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests